Sicko: Alli “treatment effects” are almost as fun as LOLCATS

Wednesday, June 20, 2007

In Sicko, Moore interviewed a doctor in London who described how doctors are paid on results. In other words, the more people he can get to stay healthy (join quit-smoking programs, etc), the better he is paid.

In the USA, doctors get paid by treating the sick and are not rewarded (monetarily) by making sure we are well.

So, perhaps doctors and drug companies profit by keeping us sick.

Let’s tie that in with the weight-loss drug Alli and its “treatment effects.”

alli

You know, this is telling you, straight out, you’re going to have uncontrollable, spraying shits in your pants that will resemble the oil on the top of a pizza. Whoa, is that the real treatment? To get people to be so grossed out by what they are putting in their bodies they will stop pigging out on greasy food? Is this really about aversion therapy, or is that just a nice “treatment effect”?

If you feel the slightest bit gassy, “the bathroom is really the best place to go.” Because, again, you’re about to drop a deuce in your Dockers.

Wear dark pants to work. Bring a couple changes to work. Maybe a butt plug, while you’re at it.

I highlighted the last point because it seemed like such a common-sense thing to say, it was like the equivalent of a sewer worker gently daubing a bit of marinara sauce from his moustache while being covered in “oily spotting”.

The lesson of the day is Quit eating like a pig and get some fucking exercise, will ya?

PS–This drug was an OTC item in Australia until they decided to pull it back and regulate it for prescription-only.

49 Responses to “Sicko: Alli “treatment effects” are almost as fun as LOLCATS”

  1. Jason Says:

    I just about had a “treatment effect” reading this post.

    It would be funny to add a clip of “Along Came Polly” where they were in the art gallery and Ben Stiller’s friend “Sharted” or create some mock advertisement from that clip.

    Jason

  2. ian Says:

    Oh man, after I first heard about the treatment effects, some friends and myself became determined to take Alli for experimentation purposes. The final goal being a hilarious article to publish accounting our experiences with it.

    Well, we rarely eat greasy stuff in general. The staple of my diet is baked fish, really. Anyways, after two weeks of taking Alli and not seeing any results, I went for broke.

    We went to this awesome little pizza joint in San Francisco called “Little Star”. Nice actual pie crust, deep dish style. A nice little thing to appreciate on infrequent occasion.

    Anyways, today actually, I enjoyed the first treatment effect.

    If you have poor eating habbits, this stuff will certainly adjust that shit, right quick. Literally.

  3. ash Says:

    omg i thought this was hilarious when i read it….i have been takin alli for about 3 days now…the first 2 nothing really happened…i was like well this is money wasted….i woke up today to go to my gmas for a christmas party and crapped all over myself in the process…im finding it harder and harder to control myself and am constantly running to the bathroom…in the book they made it sound like there was nothing to it…well lemme tell u…when somethings floatin in ur toilet and your not used to seeing it…..that makes you rethink this diet stuff….lol i agree with the exercising part….oh my thats just funny

  4. JP Says:

    It tells you only eat like 15grams or so of fat. honestly after using it for 10 months I lost 27 pounds without having to workout (I have no time with 2 jobs and school). The only time I ever had a treatment effect was at xmas time when i went well over the 15 grams of fat. It was horrible and gross, but for one day of pigging out and seeing all that nasty-ness in the toliet, I sure did save myself a hell of alot of calories from fat and to be honest for one day of “treatment effect” I rather see that nasty oil in the toliet then have my body absorb it… oh and my cholestoral is amazing complared to 10 months ago!

  5. source Says:

    It looks to me that this site doesnt load on a Motorola Droid. Are other folks having the same problem? I like this web site and dont want to have to skip it when Im away from my computer.


  6. Wanted to drop a comment and let you know your Rss feed is not functioning today. I tried adding it to my Bing reader account but got nothing.

  7. everonit.com Says:

    Nearly all of the comments on this particular website dont make sense.


  8. Please message me with some hints & tips about how you made your blog site look this good, I would be thankful!


  9. Whilst I truly like this publish, I think there was an spelling error near to the end of the 3rd sentence.


  10. Just to let you know your webpage appears a little bit unusual in Safari on my pc using Linux .


  11. Is it alright to insert a portion of this in my personal website if I publish a reference to this webpage?


  12. This blog has a lot of very useful info on it! Thanks for sharing it with me.

  13. buy leather wallets Says:

    Jesus Christ theres a lot of spammy comments on this web site. Have you actually believed about trying to eliminate them or putting in a plugin?


  14. rather valuable stuff, overall I imagine this is worthy of a book mark, thanks

  15. buy fridge freezer Says:

    This is a excellent site, could you be interested in making time for an interview about just how you produced it? If so e-mail me!

  16. thumbnail Says:

    pretty beneficial material, all round I imagine this is worthy of a bookmark, cheers


  17. Weird , your site turns up with a dark color to it, what color is the primary color on your web-site?


  18. I love this site layout . How was it made. It is rather sweet!


  19. I love that website layout ! How do you make it? It is so sweet!


  20. Jesus Christ there is a lot of spammy comments on this web site. Have you ever before thought about trying to remove them or putting in a wordpress plugin?


  21. Re: The person who created the statement that this was a great website actually needs to get their head examined.


  22. It seems to me that this site doesnt load in a Motorola Droid. Are other people having the same problem? I like this webpage and dont want to have to skip it any time Im gone from my computer.


  23. After I start your Rss feed it appears to be a ton of nonsense, is the problem on my side?


  24. Hey there, I just hopped over to your web-site through StumbleUpon. Not somthing I would normally read, but I liked your thoughts none the less. Thanks for creating something well worth browsing.


  25. Jesus Christ there is plenty of spammy feedback on this page. Have you at any time believed about trying to get rid of them or putting in a wordpress plugin?


  26. When I at first left a comment I clicked the Notify me whenever new comments are added checkbox and currently each and every time a comment is added I receive 4 messages with the exact same comment.


  27. It appears to me that this website doesnt load on a Motorola Droid. Are other folks getting the exact same issue? I like this webpage and dont want to have to skip it when Im gone from my computer.

  28. clicky Says:

    This is a amazing website, would you be interested in going through an interview regarding just how you made it? If so e-mail me!


  29. Have you considered adding several social bookmarking buttons to these sites. At the very least for twitter.

  30. go there Says:

    Have you considered including some social bookmarking buttons to these blogs. At the very least for youtube.


  31. Nice post . Thank you for, posting on this blog dude! I will email you soon. I didnt realise that.


  32. This is really a fantastic website, would you be interested in working on an interview regarding just how you created it? If so e-mail me!


  33. Have you considered including a few social bookmarking buttons to these blogs. At the very least for youtube.


  34. I have got one idea for your web site. It looks like at this time there are a couple of cascading stylesheet issues when opening a selection of webpages inside google chrome and opera. It is running okay in internet explorer. Probably you can double check this.


  35. Just discovered this blog through Bing, what a way to brighten up my week!

  36. site preview Says:

    I believe that one of your current ads caused my internet browser to resize, you may well want to get that on your blacklist.


  37. This blog is extremely cool. How can I make one like this .


  38. As soon as I at first left a comment I clicked on the Notify me any time new comments are added checkbox and now each time a remark is added I receive four email messages with the exact same comment.


  39. Strange , this page turns up with a black color to it, what color is the primary color on your web-site?

  40. mlm Says:

    I had been curious about if you ever considered changing the layout of your web site? It is very well written; I enjoy what youve got to state. But maybe you can create a little more in the way of written content so people could connect to it better. Youve got an awful lot of wording for only having one or two pictures. Maybe you can space it out better?


  41. Could you message me with any hints & tips about how you made this blog site look this awesome , Id appreciate it.


  42. Mate. This blog site is awesome! How can I make it look like this !


  43. Weird , your posting shows up with a dark color to it, what shade is the primary color on your webpage?


  44. Odd , your posting turns up with a dark hue to it, what color is the primary color on your webpage?


  45. This is often a wonderful website, would you be interested in going through an interview regarding just how you developed it? If so e-mail me and my friends!


  46. I tried taking a look at your website with my new iphone 4 and the layout does not seem to be right. Might wanna check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cell phone layouts are not working with your site.


  47. I similar to the priceless details you offer in your own articles.I’ll bookmark your web site and examine yet again listed here frequently.I’m extremely absolutely sure I’ll gain knowledge of quite a lot of new stuff correct listed here! High-quality luck to the subsequent!

  48. Aftellloode Says:

    cash advance cashback payday advance


Leave a Reply

